Cover Girl | Michelle Rodriquez

18 04 2009

0407mrod_article1
There are some actors that so trained that everything they say is carefully orchestrated so to not offend – and then there’s Michelle Rodriquez. In the upcoming issue of Latina Magazine, Rodriquez gives us the reel scoop on her hard partying past and her perception of being misunderstood in Hollywood.

The star of “The Fast and Furious” franchise as well as “Girlfight” has been labeled insane, tough, controversial and bisexual. While she neither confirms or denies these rumors, she was shockingly candid about many things in her past.

When asked about getting pinched for a quarter of a million in legal fees during her 18-day prison stay, Rodriquez was almost nostalgic. “It was important for me to get all of that stuff out of the way before I hit 30,” said Rodriquez. “It was a bunch of reality checks all at once, like, ‘Wake up, kid, time to get to work.’ Now I feel like I’m being born again.”

But what really gets underneath Rodriquez’s skin is much of the unflattering press she receives from the mainstream media. “I knock on wood that the media will understand me. But if I only saw one percent of my life, I would think the same thing everybody else thinks. So when they don’t get it, I don’t feel lost. My whole thing is, I’m waiting for them to catch up.”

For many of her fans who are waiting for her settle down, Rodriquez made it clear that it’s not happening anytime soon. “I don’t believe in commitment. That’s like giving somebody the responsibility of your happiness, like, ‘Here, you make sure that all my orgasms are great, that I have somebody to hold on cold winter nights, and just assure me that if anybody messes with me, you’ll beat them up.’ Other than that, I don’t see the point of marriage. But when I need my love, I get my love.”

While Rodriquez is content to love the one she’s with, there are certain qualities that make her take notice. ““I can’t stand boys. A boy looks at me like he wants to bang me, and I wanna throw up. I like men, ’cause they’ve been around the block and they respect their mamis. It’s hard to find one that’s not machista.” Rodriquez also stated that while she was attracted to Hugh Jackman, she likes her men over 35 with the right mix of brains and brawn.

Perhaps many of her strong views on relationships come from closely observing her parents. “My father loved women,” she says of dad Rafael, who died in 1997 of liver failure due to alcoholism. “And my mom, like a smart Dominican woman, used to smell his underwear when he came home to make sure he hadn’t been with someone else.”

There are many actors who are content to play the game and climb the ladder of Hollywood success, but not Rodriquez. “If I had done what the powers that be in Hollywood told me to do—‘Do a hot action movie playing the half-naked girlfriend, then do a Maxim cover [which Rodriguez has turned down in the past] and then start a music career to make yourself even hotter’— I’d be making $10 million per movie by now. If I would’ve followed that formula, kissing all the asses along the way, then I’d be there right now. But I wouldn’t be happy because I wouldn’t be living my truth.”

The latest issue of Latina Magazine is on stands, Monday, April 21.

michelle-rodriguez-latina-magazine-may-2009-lossip4

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

