Conversation with . . . Tyler Perry

22 02 2009

026_g
As his new film, “Madea’s Goes To Jail,” has turnstiles spinning from coast to coast, writer/director/producer/mogul Tyler Perry talked about his latest film, his upcoming role in “Star Trek” and the sequel he’s writing to “Why Did I Get Married!”

Although Perry loves to play his signature role as Madea in different films, they are not sequels. Each of those films have also been successful, but many consider “Why Did I Get Married?” his best work to date; which is why he is planning to do a follow-up with hopefully the original cast returning.

“Married” starred Janet Jackson, Jill Scott, Malik Yoba, Sharon Leal, Tasha Smith, Michael Jai White, Richard T. Jones, and Perry himself.

While promoting his latest film, “Madea Goes To Jail,” Perry spoke to Blackfilm.com about the ‘Married’ sequel as well as his role in the upcoming “Star Trek” film and his opportunity to be in “X-Men Origins: Wolverine.”

Will there be another pairing with Tasha Smith?

Tyler Perry: “Why Did Get Married Too?” I’m writing it right now.

Why do a sequel to the film?

TP: Because there is so much I want to say. There’s not another film that I have written that I felt like there’s more to say; and there’s more say in “Why Did I Get Married Too.”

Will it the same cast or a new group of actors?

TP: It will be the same cast. Everybody. I won’t do it without the original cast.

What’s the storyline?

TP: I can’t talk about it now, but it’s going to be great.

How fun was it to work on “Star Trek?”

TP: It was really exciting. J.J Abrams is a fan and he called and asked me if I would be interested in doing the film and I was shocked. The timing was perfect and it was only a week. It’s a really small role. It really helped me to see what it’s like to be on someone else’s set.

What ’s your role in the film?

TP: I’m the Commander of the Star Fleet. I run the school. I’m a pretty big guy, literally, and in the film.

To read the rest of the interview, click here.

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 02 2009
Jill Scott » Blog Archive » Conversations with . . . Tyler Perry

[…] FilmGordon wrote an interesting post today on Conversations with . . . Tyler PerryHere’s a quick excerptAs his new film, “Madea’s Goes To Jail,” has turnstiles spinning from coast to coast, writer/director/producer/mogul Tyler Perry talked about his latest film, his upcoming role in “Star Trek” and the sequel he’s writing to “Why Did I Get Married!” Although Perry loves to play his signature role as Madea in different films, they are not sequels. Each of those films have also been successful, but many consider “Why Did I Get Married?” his best work to date; which is why he is planning to do a f […]

22 02 2009
Conversations with . . . Tyler Perry

[…] the original post here:  Conversations with . . . Tyler Perry Tags: alicia-keys, barack-obama, filmgordon, jennifer-lopez, mariah-carey, married, movie, perry, […]

22 02 2009
Conversations with . . . Tyler Perry « FilmGordon

[…] Original post by filmgordon […]

22 02 2009
marouene

thank you

23 02 2009
Jill Scott » Blog Archive » Conversations with . . . Tyler Perry « FilmGordon

[…] filmgordon wrote an interesting post today on Conversations with . . . Tyler Perry « FilmGordonHere’s a quick excerpt“Married” starred Janet Jackson, Jill Scott, Malik Yoba, Sharon Leal, Tasha Smith, Michael Jai White, Richard T. Jones, and Perry himself. While promoting his latest film, “Madea Goes To Jail,” Perry spoke to Blackfilm.com about the … […]

25 02 2009
langathura

Have you seen the movie Tyler Perry’s Madea Goes to Jail (2009) it was quite good to day I went on to see it with my family. It was a movie we still can’t stop laugh. I don’t know how this man do all these with his self. I never seen any comedy like this before. Free movies http://www.80millionmoviesfree.com is where I have wacth this movie with my family.

Leave a Reply

