Razzies Have No “Love” for the “Guru!”

21 01 2009

Last year, Hollywood released an amazingly high slate of terribly bad films. Well today the film empire struck back as the the nominations for the 2009 Razzie Awards spotlighting the year’s worst films were announced. Leading the pack was the Mike Myers’ disaster, “The Love Guru.”

Myers’ offensively, crude comedy secured seven nominations including worst picture and worst-acting slots for Myers, Jessica Alba, Verne Troyer and Oscar-winner Ben Kingsley.

Rounding out the Worst Picture contenders were spoofs, “Disaster Movie,” “Meet the Spartans,” the latest M. Night Shymalan bomb, “The Happening,” the Paris Hilton’s romantic comedy bomb, “The Hottie & the Nottie” and the sword-and-sorcery fantasy “In the Name of the King: A Dungeon Siege Tale.”

The non-talented socialite, Hilton had three nominations, worst actress and worst screen couple alongside her co-stars in “The Hottie & the Nottie,” plus worst supporting actress for “Repo! The Genetic Opera.”

The decline of Eddie Murphy continues one year after he took home three nominations last year for multiple roles in “Norbit,” he adds two more to his unimpressive record with worst actor and screen couple alongside himself for dual roles in his sci-fi comedy dud “Meet Dave.”

Cameron Diaz also picked up two Razzie nominations for the romance “What Happens in Vegas,” as worst actress and worst screen couple alongside co-star Ashton Kutcher.

Along with Kingsley, Oscar winner Al Pacino had a terrible year with two nominations for worst-actor for his crime thrillers “88 Minutes” and “Righteous Kill.”

Last year was also unkind to the remake “The Women.” The entire cast including Annette Bening, Eva Mendes, Debra Messing, Jada Pinkett Smith and Meg Ryan all shared a worst-actress nomination. Other nominees in the category included Alba, Diaz and Hilton in the worst-actress category was Kate Hudson for “Fool’s Gold” and “My Best Friend’s Girl.”

Besides Murphy, Myers and Pacino, worst-actor nominees were Larry the Cable Guy for “Witless Protection” and Mark Wahlberg for “The Happening” and “Max Payne.”

Razzie “winners” will be announced February 21, the day before the Oscars.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: