Conversation with . . . Will.i.am

21 06 2008

Earlier this week, former Black Eyed Peas frontman and producer Will.i.am spoke about his role in the upcoming, Marvel film, “X-Men Origins: Wolverine.”

“Through five decades, three movies and hundreds of comic books, James “Logan” Howlett has been attempting to sift through the clues and figure out the exact nature of his origin. For nearly three years, “X-Men” fanboys have been doing the same, knowing only that their favorite razor-clawed rebel is getting a spinoff that explains his backstory.

And now, Black Eyed Peas rapper Will.I.Am is offering up some rare clues about his feature-film debut opposite Hugh Jackman’s iconic superhero in “X-Men Origins: Wolverine.”

“I’m a teleporter. … I’m here, I’m there, I’m everywhere. Boom, boom, boom!” Will revealed. “My character’s name is John Wraith. He’s a black Texan. He’s not a cowboy, but his gear suggests that he is. He’s just a badass who’ll whoop your ass.”

Will has been whooping some butt himself in the four months since he landed his first film role, touring the world with the Peas, winning an Emmy last week for his Barack Obama “Yes We Can” video, and even landing a voiceover gig in November’s highly anticipated “Madagascar” sequel. But while he’s never been one to hide his “Wolverine” excitement, he revealed to us that the role cost him a lot of blood, sweat and tears.

“You see that little scar I’ve got on my knuckles?” he asked, holding up his hand. “I’m a newbie when it comes to big action films and stuff. … It was my fight scene. I was real into it, and then I missed my mark, and I punched the camera and broke the lens!

“But that goes to show you,” he grinned. “I ain’t to be messed with, because I break lenses!”

To read the rest of the article, click here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

